• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New zebra finch

Kales

Meeting neighbors
Hello,
I'm new to finches, but after researching decided to go with Zebra finches. I have to say they are pretty cute and settling in nicely in quarantine.
Here is a pic of one of them as we went with two. I know he/she doesn't have the cheek patches, but I was told they were a female...it has the brown specs, black line on chest and bright feet. Not to mention they are just singing away.
Is it a boy?

cupoftea

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Anna
Wow he's lovely! The bird in the picture looks like a male to me, judging by the brown spotted sides and black bar above his breast. How does the other bird look like?

cupoftea

Real Name
Anna
That second one is definitely a male. Orange cheeks, black bar above breast and black stripes on throat, along with the brown spotted sides. You have 2 males.

wyrinth

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
What cuties. Don't know too much about zebras, but I do know there are a bunch of mutations that he'd rid of the orange cheeks. I like their little beeping noises that they make, I've never heard one sing though.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
They're very cute!

mythic55

Avenue Veteran
Two males. Beak is pretty bright for a female... and there are flanks. So you would be looking at a male prolly a combination of things: florida fancy, split for pied/blackcheek.

Those birds are both very young, and the second looks as if it may have a vitamin A deficiency. Try giving some hardboiled egg with some shredded carrot, spinach, red pepper and kale finely chopped.

Last edited:

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award