• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Introducing Sydney

allison

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Allison
I'm no longer an active member here but I wanted to share some news. I currently have 2 parrotlets who are around 4 years old. I've volunteered at rescues since 2006 and worked with a lot or birds. Cockatoos have always been my favorites but my dad has bird allergies so I could never adopt one myself. I have been volunteering at a parrot in Sacramento for several months. I have fallen for a few birds but nowhere near the intensity of a timid Umbrella cockatoo named Sydney.
Sydney is 10 years old and lost his home after his owner died of cancer and the daughter of the owner could no longer care from him. He's been there a few months. At first if you came near his 24"x24" cage he would run to the back and sway. He came with no toys and was scared of them (he's slowly getting used to them). He was also too scared to leave his cage for the first few weeks. Then would sit on the top of the cage and run back in if anyone came near. He would give kisses sometimes but if you put your hand towards him he would get very scared and run away. I would go up to him and talk to him a lot but didn't really put any special effort in bonding with him.