• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

IRN advice needed!!!!

MarvelBirds

Checking out the neighborhood
Ok so I'm new to IRN's and parrots/parakeets in general!!

On Friday night I brought home my three, nearly four month, old blue IRN! It (still deciding on a name) isn't tame yet and it was used to being surrounded by quite a few other RN's it's age until separated into a lone cage. The man who we brought the bird from (who was extremely helpful) told use that he'd managed to pick up the bird and get it into a calm enough state to feed it pieces of apple.

On Saturday afternoon me and my mum tried to handle him, like the man told us to do. Of course I wasn't expecting it to be calm or pleased about the action! I managed to get it calm only slightly, talking to it in a soft voice and holding it against my chest with my hands over it's wings. It did squark a bit! I haven't held it since because I don't want to stress it out too much, since that same evening we moved it from it's travelling cage into the big parrot cage we've brought.

It's eating, having the occasional peck at seeds and drinking from it's water bowl so thats a good sign! It's still a bit shy of us! Facing the other way when we talk to it and waddling off to another part of the cage! It's mainly on the floor of the cage too. It was a bit wobbly on a perch the first morning of having it but it's improved, now sitting quite comfortably on a perch when it feels like it, however that isn't often. Is that normal for a RN of it's age? I've put it down to nerves, but could it be something else?

Also it is placed beside my Budgies at the minute! Is that a good idea? It was used to being around other types of birds including a Macaw!