• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures Question about beaks

Hquinn

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Jessica
I know this is probably a dumb question but I have searched and have been unable to find the answer. Does my birds beak look normal? I noticed his beak doesn't close all the way like it did when he was a baby, is this normal? Do I need to get his beak trimmed? Also why is his beak a bit flakey? I read it could be a vitamin A deficiency so I am going to try to give him more fruits and vegetables high in vitamin A.

Jeddy

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Jan
Hi Jessica,

I am no expert on birds but it look normal to me and the beak does grow and they grind their beak and a little flaking seems normal. Hopefully experts with hop on soon.

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John
Beak flaking is a normal part of a growing beak.

A beak grows in length very slowly and rarely needs shortening unless there is a deviation in the way the top and bottom meet, causing a failure of the two to keep each other worn. There are several causes for this to happen, including malformation during development, injury, invasion by infectious agents, like bacteria, fungi, parasites (knemidocoptes mites), or a virus known as psittacine beak and feather disease virus (PBFD). Another reason for overlength beaks is in the case of chronic liver disease. Otherwise, shortening the beak should never be necessary.