• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Linnie mating behavior??

SkyBlu13

Moving in
My little Nym is about six months old now and she has begun to display a new behavior: she will raise her head, beak pointed up, with the little feathers right above her nares fluffed (the rest of her head feathers are flat) and turn her head really slowly side to side, giving little click noises intermittently o_O. Sometimes she leans to the side a bit with her foot half raised, her wings sticking out a tiny bit at the shoulder, and usually her pupils get a bit smaller while she's doing this. Is this some sort of mating behavior, a sign she is about to go through puberty? I'm still new to linnies and don't know their body language. Nym has also begun to regurgitate food for her favorite toy. She will do the head swaying thing sometimes with the toy, but most often to me in the mornings when I uncover her, as well as when she finds herself on the ground after fluttering off her playgym. She'll come running to me when I call, then as soon as she steps onto my hand up goes her head and she sways side to side, clicking very softly.
I'm not sure how to respond to this behavior. Usually I wait for her to stop, fluff, and return to "normal" then just bring her back to her playgym. I'm nervous about her starting to lay eggs, though, because she's the first female bird I've ever had. Any insight would be appreciated, thanks! :)

Ocean

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Aqua
Birds will only lay eggs if conditions are right, which normally means surplus of food, warm food, more hours of light, nesting material or a place to nest, The only thing that would
suggest mating behavior is bringing up food.

karen256

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue