• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Linnie signs of fear?

SkyBlu13

Moving in
:) Hello, I am new to linnie ownership and I have a few questions regarding the fear behavior of lineolated parakeets. My linnie, Nym, is about 4 months old and I have had her for nearly a month now. She is hand-fed and has been pretty active from the get-go, exploring her perches, climbing every inch of the cage (even the ceiling, upside-down), and chewing/nuzzling her toys. She's also pretty vocal (but not loud) on and off, and goes a few volume notches louder around feeding time. What I am concerned about are some of the noises and gestures she makes on occasion. :unsure: If I am near her when she is eating, or even just waiting on her food bowl before feeding time, she emits these quiet "Churrrr" sounds that seem a little fussy. Then, when I reached in to put her food in the bowl, she would run over, jump onto my hand, and "Churrr" a bit louder, punctuating each vocalization with a little head bob. Sometimes she will peck my hand or reach over to grab some of her food (veggies and pellets, usually). I try to stay still until she calms, then I place the food. Once that's done, she jumps down to start eating, grumbling very softly into her dish for a few moments before quieting down.