• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

What do i do when I first bring my AG home???

Riyam Alenezi

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Riyam Alenezi
When I first get my grey... any advice? Because once I bought a plumb headed parrot from the store, it was so playful and would play with anyone, once I got it home it freaked like I just kidnapped it and he turned from a playful little bundle to a growling aggressive parrot... :jawdrop1: And every time I turned off the lights at night he would make a racket in his cage knocking his beak on the cage angrily as if to say OPEN THE LIGHTS! And when I did open it he would stop.

Im not good with first impressions :/ Any tips? Should I leave it alone for the first 2 days or is that a bad idea...

p.s, im getting a 4 month old grey

Gypsy

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Denise
Be sure the grey is completely weaned onto solid food before bringing it home. If not, you encounter all kinds of issues.

Riyam Alenezi

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Riyam Alenezi
He eats solid food on his own but also formula.

Gypsy

Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Denise
You want a bird that is not eating formula. I have read other people having problems with crops getting burned, not emptying correctly or even bacterial problems. I hope others will chime in with more advice about unweaned birds.

BeakFace

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Do yourself a favor and let the breeder property wean your baby! Why bring stress into such a great new time! Why take a chance! Things can go wrong and unless you are a professional with years of experience don't do it!

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John
Where is this Plumb headed parrot now?