• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello All!! New (And Very Excited!) Budgie Owner!

WarriorPrincess

Meeting neighbors
Avenue Veteran
Hello everyone!!

My name is Nakita, and I am from sunny Sarasota, FL. :)

I have been working in a pet store for several months and in that time have made friends with a beautiful pineapple conure, a stunning and incredibly cuddly Rose Breasted Cockatoo (Galah), and as of a week ago, a very cute juvie Parakeet (American Budgie)! The cockatoo is incredibly dear to me, but I cannot afford him, nor can I handle his big bird screaming in my apartment! However, after doing quite a bit of reading and research, I decided to go ahead and bring home my Budgie friend! :D (Hereafter I refer to said Budgie as "he", but as of yet he is a juvie and I don't know yet what "his" sex is!)

I purchased a medium sized flight cage for him, with lots of perches (wood, calcium, and a comfort rope perch) and several toys (rope, wood, leather, and a mirror). Spray millet, a cuttle bone, a mineral block treat, Zoopreem Smart Selects Parakeet food, and a snuggle sack. I got everything all set up for my little friend and brought him home today!!! I am so excited to have him! He is currently trying to adjust to his new cage, and hanging out on the perch I placed him on when I brought him home. He keeps doing this panting/beak thing, that I take to mean he is just stressed?