• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Considering a Cockatiel (But: Dust?)

TurangaLeela

Meeting neighbors
Hi everyone! I'm considering getting a cockatiel, and I was hoping you might give me some advice. Background on me: I'm a 30 year-old student (with at least 2 more years of school left), so I'm home a lot, for now. I live with my partner; we have no kids and no other pets. I have had a bird before - a pacific parrotlet (she died in an accident, and I'm scared to get another tiny bird).

Why I love GCCs: Their sweet, friendly personalities, and their whistling calls! I've never had a cockatiel, but they seem to be calm but playful and loving birds. A sweet, friendly bird is essential for me - I want a bird who can entertain himself while I'm at school, then will want to come and hang out when I'm home. Plus, I live in an apartment, and I know my upstairs neighbor has a 'tiel and that they're allowed, which is a big plus.

Why I hesitate: In a word: dust. My partner is allergic to cat and dog dander, plus he had asthma as a kid. A bird that caused health problems would be terrible. I've read that the dust is easy to contain with a daily wipe-down and a HEPA filter, but I want to learn more so I don't make a mistake that hurts anyone.

Thanks everyone! I love reading about everyone's birds, and hearing all of your stories!

Skyler

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Pat