• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Considering a GC Conure (but: Noise?)

TurangaLeela

Meeting neighbors
Hi everyone! I'm considering getting a green cheek conure, and I was hoping you might give me some advice. Background on me: I'm a 30 year-old student (with at least 2 more years of school left), so I'm home a lot, for now. I live with my partner; we have no kids and no other pets. I have had a bird before - a pacific parrotlet (she died in an accident, and I'm scared to get another tiny bird).

Why I love GCCs: their spunky, curious, take-no-prisoners personality! A playful, friendly bird is an absolute must for me - I want a bird who will be happy to see me every day and want to hang out and play, but who will be okay and entertain himself (quietly) if I need to be out of the house for a while. Plus, that plumage!

Why I hesitate: In a word: noise. I live in an apartment, and probably always will. I know birds are okay in my building, and there's a cockatiel upstairs who no one seems to mind, but he's a lovely whistler, and I'm worried that a GCC will be less musical. What I've heard is that GCCs let out a burst of "Good morning!" and then are quiet, or they mutter and chatter to themselves. I'm worried that screaming will drive us all nuts.

Thanks everyone! I love reading about everyone's birds, and hearing all of your stories! :dance4:

webchirp

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Chandra
I am sorry about your little parrotlet.