• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Questions regarding my new canary?

samj

Moving in
Hello all, this is my first time posting here. I just got a beautiful new canary yesterday. He's aged around 8 or 9 months and used to sing frequently in his old home. I'm worried though that he's not getting used to his new environment in my home. Since yesterday, he's rarely eaten anything. He just hops around from perch to perch then to the ground, and back up to the perch. He's been hopping around a lot in a quick manner while making little chirps. He has been drinking but I'm worried that he hasn't eaten properly yet. I placed some food on the ground, as well as in the cage's food holders, to encourage him to eat but he just jumps to the ground, ignores the food, and jumps back up. I find it difficult to believe that he's not hungry after a day without eating properly. Yesterday, he slept but his feathers were puffed up. Today, he woke up and started hopping around again. The canary is not sick or in poor health. I made sure of that before I got him. But in his old home, he was housed with 2 other males in the same cage and his cage was placed in a room full of about 20 canaries. So he was used to being in the presence of other birds. Could that be why he is refusing to eat? The only other birds I have in my house are two budgies. Another question I've been wondering about is whether I should put the canary and budgies in the same room. Currently, I've put the canary in a different room than the budgies. At his age, could they cause him to stop singing or would he enjoy seeing other birds in the same room? Maybe the presence of other birds might help him get accustomed to his new home, perhaps? I hope you can give me some advice on how to get my new bird to start eating and to be comfortable in my house. And what could I do if I continues to refuse t