• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Mystery feather loss

peter simpson

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
peter simpson
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie so please forgive me if I am wrong with this post.

I have a mystery with my male Ringneck I recently put a young female in his cage,he very quickly seemed to have lost all his tail and flight feathers. I would love some suggestions from you guys as to why this might be and what I should do about it. I have isolated him but I'm not sure if the feather loss is from stress, plucking, mites or something else.i have recently sprayed him with Avitrol bird mite and lice spray .

What do you all think??

Attachments

thekarens

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Karen
A vet trip is the first thing I'd do.

Newbie GCC

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Heather
Is the female possibly pulling them out? Do they get along well? Has diet changed at all? Is he getting the same amount of one on one time with his humans?
How old is he? If he is fairly young, could this be his first major molt?
So many questions, and I apologize. Sometimes these help narrow possible issues. I do agree with @thekarens. I would recommend a trip to the vet to rule out any health issues. He looks to be a beautiful guy in full feather.

ncGreyBirdLady

They call Me crazy like its a bad thing!
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Bonnie