• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pending Adoption After Home Visit

LovieLuvr

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Christina
Hey everyone!

I'm so excited to announce that I will soon be a brand new tiel mommy to this little guy! His name is Peatree and he is in need of being rehomed by his owner due to an unfortunate situation. Peatree's current mom is loves him so very much, and I could tell this process is extremely hard for her...we both cried :sad11:. She's coming over on Sunday for a home visit and to meet us in person before we decide to complete the adoption.

Since I am new to tiels I figured that I would announce this to my AA family and reach out for some advice. I've been doing a lot of research on tiels over the past month, but I'd like to know some of your experiences. The one thing that makes me nervous about tiels is night frights :unsure1:...I've only had lovebirds, and Stitch has been diagnosed with idiopathic epilepsy...so I'm hoping night frights aren't worse than that. Since Lilo's passing I've been wanting to adopt another fid...but was just waiting for the right opportunity, and now I think I've found it. :heart:

10599478_767359653325891_2462921928643456255_n.jpg

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
He is adorable! Congratulations! The best advise I can give is to ask his old mom lots of questions and initially try to keep his routine, etc. the same as his old until he is comfortable in his new home. Does she cover him at night or not? What time does he go to sleep? Get up? What food does he eat? etc. Are you getting his old cage too? That will probably help. And for now, keep the same cage set up. All of this should help him feel more comfortable sooner and then you can start doing your own changes.