• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent 2 Day Old Cockatiel with Air in Crop & Attached Yolk

Devin Hickman

Checking out the neighborhood
First off, I'd just like to say that I'm not currently able to get medical care for my pet. My avian vet is out of town on vacation and no one else around my town has any idea of how to treat birds. It's not an option right now and won't be for about 2 weeks. Secondly, I have very little experience raising hatchlings. All my knowledge has pretty much come from non-stop "research" on the internet the past 48 hours.

Two days ago, my cockatiels - who laid 10 clutches without a single viable egg - had an egg hatch. I was totally taken off guard, because I was under the assumption they were both female cockatiels. Because of that, I had absolutely no plans for any baby birds whatsoever, especially not one that seems to be sick.

There's only one bird that hatched, who I've dubbed Norman for now, and I worry about him. I found him pushed into the corner of the cage in a pile of ground up pellets, freezing and chirping, while the parents sat in the opposite corner with their other three eggs. I don't know how long he was there, but I quickly cleaned an old aquarium tank and fitted it with a heating pad and lamp for heat. I then fed him Pedialyte mixed with peanut butter at a thin gravy-like consistency which seemed to perk him right up - I'm now using Kaytee's Exact formula about once every 1 - 2 hours, or whenever his crop is relatively empty.