• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New Lovie Mom Needs Advice

Katiepooh

Moving in
Real Name
Ann
I am hoping to get some questions answered since I am new to the Lovebird scene. Elvis is 6 1/2 weeks old and I have been hand feeding him since he was 4 weeks old. This past week he has decided to eat less and play more. I know he is starting to go through a weaning stage from past experience with other types of birds many years ago, and it is normal for them to usually drop around 10% of their body weight but he feels very thin. His color looks good and he is a bundle of energy but I am worried that he is not getting enough to eat. I have been setting out Vita-Seed mix that also has dried fruit and also give him a selection of fresh fruit and veggies. He started "beaking" some of it earlier this week, and I did hear him crack open some seeds too. Should I be doing anything else???

Also, he absolutely HATES going back in his cage. He goes to work with me everyday, but when I get home I need him in his cage so I can cook dinner, etc. That's when he gets upset, climbs all over the cage, bites at it and shakes the doors. Is this normal because I have spoiled him and he is demanding more time?? Have I created a monster??? LOL I can't even leave my office to walk down the hall at work without him flying to me. He wants to be with me every second. Whether he is on my shoulder or cuddled up in my work scrub next to my neck. Very affectionate little cuddlebug!! Is this typical lovebird behavior???

Elvis at 5 1/2 weeks old.....

Elvis taking a nap in his favorite towel on my chest while I work.....

Shastasmom

Walking the driveway
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Sally